Max Reger: The Last Giant

Max Reger: The Last Giant
Item# FSF-DVD-011
Choose Member or Non-Member Price: 

Product Description

Multi-disc DVD boxed set is a documentary about Reger's life, in three 52-minute episodes, and serves as both a biography and also an in-depth survey of his music.

A vast survey of Max Reger's best music for organ, as well as orchestral, chamber and instrumental works. Organists include Graham Barber, Bernhard Buttmann and Bernhard Haas. 6 DVDs : 80 page booklet.

Organ Works:

The boxed set includes the following massive Reger organ works:
Chorale Fantasias Opus 30 and 52iii
Symphonic Fantasia and Fugue Opus 57
Second Sonata Opus 60
Variations and Fugue on an Original Theme Opus 73
Fantasia and Fugue in D minor Opus 135b
Plus more, including many medium and smaller works.

Other Works:
Reger's organ works are featured in pride of place in this DVD, but you will also enjoy a good selection of his greatest orchestral, instrumental, chamber works, as well as lieder.
The Brandenburgische Staatsorchester conducted by Ira Levin, with Frauke May, mezzo-soprano
An Die Hoffnung Opus 124
Bach Variations Opus 81 (orch Levin);
Four Tone Poems after Arnold Böcklin Opus 128

Chamber music filmed in the Altes Rathaus in Reger's home town of Weiden, and will include:
Plus selected Lieder; Quartet Opus 52ii; Cello Sonata Opus 116; Violin Sonatas Opus 72, 84, 103b; Sextet Opus 118, selected piano works and more.